Manhattanville returning to Skyline

Manhattanville, men's soccer
Manhattanville athletics photo

As the dust was starting to settle from the initial Mid-Atlantic Shuffle, Manhattanville shuffled from the Skyline Conference, its home since 1989, and joined the MAC Freedom for the 2007-08 season

Charles L. Flynn, Jr., president at Mount St. Vincent and chair of the Skyline Conference Presidents Council, has announced that Manhattanville will return to the Skyline, effective July 1, 2019, as the next round of the Mid-Atlantic Shuffle continues.

"Manhattanville​ shares the ​​academic, educational, and athletic commitments of Skyline Conference colleges and universities," said Flynn. "On behalf of all Skyline institutions, I​'m delighted to welcome Manhattanville as our twelfth member." 

“Manhattanville is honored to be invited to join the Skyline Conference,” said Manhattanville president Michael Geisler. “We take great pride in the success of our student-athletes on and off the fields and the Skyline Conference is an excellent fit for our school athletically, academically and geographically. I look forward to our teams beginning play in the Skyline in 2019-20.”

The departure will leave the MAC Freedom with seven schools for the 2019-20 season. 

"The Skyline Conference is very excited to add Manhattanville as our 12th member," stated Linda Bruno, commissioner of the Skyline Conference. "They embrace the same competitive and  academic values that are important to our institutions. We look forward to them joining us."

“I am very excited for Manhattanville to be accepted into the Skyline Conference,” said Ed Manetta, Manhattanville athletic director. “As a member of the Skyline, we are looking forward to providing our student-athletes with an excellent experience against quality opponents while enhancing our rivalries with the many conference schools in our area.”

The Skyline Conference will be comprised of 12 NCAA Division III institutions in the metropolitan New York area in the 2019-20 academic year: Farmingdale State; Manhattanville; SUNY-Maritime; Mount St. Mary; Mount St. Vincent; SUNY Old Westbury; SUNY Purchase; St. Joseph's (Bklyn.); St. Joseph's (L.I.); Sarah Lawrence; Merchant Marine; and Yeshiva. The conference sponsors championships in 19 sports.